No parts of this
publication may be reproduced, stored or transmitted in any form
both for commercial aims and for personal and private ones
more accurate and detailed information visit the site about S.
It is a vicariate under the title of the SS.MM Alfio, Filadelfo
and Cirino. The present church in Lombard style with Corinthian
ornamentations is a unique part with the building and it is well
The interior has a nave and two aisles with the shape of a Latin
cross, and it was built in different periods. In the past it was
composed of an only small nave built on the ruins of the ancient
icon the first Christians erected where the Martyr Brothers stopped
The finding of the Martyrs’ relics in 1517 and their translation
to Lentini, pushed for the realisation of the new Church.
In fact in the Constitution of the Brotherhood of
the SS. MM. Alfio, Filadelfo and Cirino, we read: “...In April 1593
it was built the Church where it is now for the willing of some
devout persons and specially of Pietro Mazza, Leonardo Lo Faro,
Luigi Bonaccorso and Andrea Bonanno"- That is a sign to establish
the present Church is not in the same place where it was before.
On 7 January 1650 the General Vicar Francesco D’ Amico
, in a vacancy, gave permission to extend it, so it was built bigger
than the first, but always with a unique nave.
The buildings were completed in 1662, as the headstone
set on the main door remembers:
ALPHIUS, HAEC PHILADELPHIUS
AMANT TEMPLA ALTA, CIRINUS,
TRES - CASTI AGNI DANT ASTRA
|There were not big damages during the 1693 earthquake that destroyed
Trecastagni. On August 12th 1713 the first bell was done and on April
25th 1824 the major bell was fused in S. Alfio’s plain (square), with
the participation of the believers of the town and of those of Pedara;
in 1857 the actual bell tower was built on the project of the fellow
townsperson Arch. Giuseppe Torrisi. In September 1861 Dr. Carmelo
Coco of Trecastagni gave the bell known as S. Stefano, moulded in
Giarre by Mariano Arcidiacono and his sons Pietro and Francesco.
Only in 1878 seen the importance of the worship, they thought to
transform the Church adding the small aisle of the Crucifix, built
with the contribution of Dr. Sebastiano Nicolosi Zappalà, and in
1884 on the opposite side it was built the other one, enriching
them with three marble altars, that is: the High Altar, the Holy
Sacrament one, and S. Joseph’s today of the Crucifix. Francesco
Pennisi from Acireale painted the Tabernacle artistic small door,
representing the Last Supper in 1876.
In 1887 the first bell of the 1713 broke, and it was moulded again
by the Administration and dedicated to the Lady of the Graces. In
1905 Barrigozzi from Milan moulded the two bells of the clock.
The Central Chapel was started in 1899 and finished
in 1908, it presents a very magnificent composition. The persons
who cooperate to the execution were: Francesco Grasso for the stucco
works, Eugene Timmoniere for the decoration, Giuseppe Greco for
the gilding, Antonino Toscano for the door of the niche. In this
niche, enriched also inside, there are the Simulacres of the Saint
Martyrs in wood, sitting on the gestatorial chairs, work of the
Roman sculptor Giuseppe Orlando who worked in Trecastagni in the
first years of the 1700.
These statues were richly gilded on June 30th 1715,
and later in 1986 colours and gilding were retouched by Ferdinando
Cappellani, as we can see in the inscription on one of them. On
the triumphal arch there is a gilded eagle holding a shield with
the following inscription:
While in the middle of the dome of the apse on a shield
enamelled in blue gilded letters we read the words:
ET UNA FIDES
The apse is floored in white and black marble and
we note in the centre the following small headstone that is part
of the hexagon drawing:
PER DEV.NE DEI CONJ
ED ANTONINO RAPISARDA
The baptismal font dates back to 1713 in red marble
of Taormina in a unique piece and was given by Don Diego Bonaccorso,
as it is pointed out from the coat of arms and from the following
PER SUAM DEVOTIONEM F.
We know the statues of the Martyrs were shown, before these, to
the veneration of the believers, because in 1647 the Rev. Giovanni
Battista Paternò Canon of the Cathedral in Catania come here as
a visitor on May 22nd in that year, says in his report:
Perpulchrae statue dictorum Sanctorum que cum multa populorum
divotione et frequentia venerantur.
Besides there are three interesting paintings in the
church, two of unknown painters, but certainly of the 1700, they
he one on the left aisle The Martyrdom of the SS.
Brothers and the other one to the right the Lapidation of S. Stefano;
the third work by the nineteenth century Giuseppe Rapisardi from
Catania, Maria SS. Of the Graces.
The painting of the Lady of the Graces covers a niche
where there is the artistic statue in gilded wood of the Lady with
the Child: it is the work of a unknown sculptor of the1700. The
apotheosis of the SS. Martyrs painted in the middle of the apse
by the above-mentioned painter, Giuseppe Rapisardi completes the
beauty of the church.
|The pulpit in graven and gilded wood built in April 1910, the main
portal and the window worked in lava stone with columns in Corinthian
style dating back to1662 and the small portal to midday surmounted
by a coat of arms with the symbols of the Martyrdom, that is the ancient
portal of the 1593 old Church are still remarkable. The floor in marble
was made in 1925 and in this period was obstructed the work mouth
bringing into the church sepulchral undergrounds. On the opposite
sides figures in relief Of the Crucifix and of S. Benedict.